Dead Man’s Prayer by Jackie Baldwin

jb1

*Many thanks to the author for my review copy*

About the book:

Eighteen years ago, DI Frank Farrell turned his back on the church. But when an ex-priest is murdered in his hometown, he has no choice but to delve into his past. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, James Oswald and Val McDermid.

Ex-priest DI Frank Farrell has returned to his roots in Dumfries, only to be landed with a disturbing murder case. Even worse, Farrell knows the victim: Father Boyd, the man who forced him out of the priesthood eighteen years earlier.

With no leads, Farrell must delve into the old priest’s past, one that is inexorably linked with his own. But his attention is diverted when a pair of twin boys go missing. The Dumfries police force recover one in an abandoned church, unharmed. But where is his brother?

As Farrell investigates the two cases, he can’t help but feel targeted. Is someone playing a sinister game, or is he seeing patterns that don’t exist? Either way, it’s a game Farrell needs to win before he loses his grip on his sanity, or someone else turns up dead.

Click HERE to get your copy!

My thoughts:

Dead Man’s Prayer is Jackie Baldwin’s debut novel, which is really hard to believe as it is a very assured and gripping debut novel.

Dead Man’s Prayer  is a crime thriller with as much pace and depth as any of the popular ones out there today. Following DI Frank Farrell as he returns to his home town in the wake of a heinous murder, it takes a dark and sinister turn with the disappearance of twin little boys.

I found myself gripped early on. I really enjoyed the way the author wrote this story, especially as regards the characters she’s created. DI Frank Farrell is a great protagonist, even with his history, it makes him more human. It was really easy to follow the story, and to also empathise with him as he has been on one hell of a journey.

I don’t want to go too much into the plot, for fear of spoiling anything for the readers. I will say that this was a debut I wasn’t expecting, and I was pleasantly surprised by it. A gripping, thrilling and ultimately satisfying book, if you like crime books then Dead Man’s Prayer is definitely one for you!

Recommended!

Previous posts with Jackie Baldwin:

Q&A With Jackie Baldwin

 

 

3 thoughts on “Dead Man’s Prayer by Jackie Baldwin

  1. Sounds great.I like the description of the detective and his background.Glad to see that you mention that he is a great protagonist.I’ll add this to my TBR.Great review.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Wrap Up (x2) | Bibliophile Book Club

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s