Cragside: A DCI Ryan Mystery (The DCI Ryan Mysteries Book 6)


*Many thanks to LJ Ross for my review copy!*

About the book:

Are you afraid of the dark..?

After his climactic battle with notorious serial killer The Hacker, DCI Ryan is spending the summer with his fiancée within the grounds of Cragside, a spectacular Bavarian-style mansion surrounded by acres of woodland. When they are invited to attend the staff summer party – a Victorian murder mystery evening – it’s all a joke until the lights go out and an elderly man is found dead. It looks like an unfortunate accident but, as the dead man’s life begins to unfold, Ryan and his team of detectives realise that all is not as it appears.

When a second body is found, terror grips the close-knit community and Ryan must uncover the killer who walks among them, before they strike again…

Published TOMORROW, click the link below to pre-order your copy:

Cragside: A DCI Ryan Mystery (The DCI Ryan Mysteries Book 6)

About the author:


L.J. Ross is the author of the international #1 bestselling series of DCI Ryan mystery novels. Her debut, Holy Island, was released in January 2015 and went on to become a Kindle UK #1 bestseller. Its sequels, Sycamore Gap, Heavenfield, Angel and High Force have all been top five bestsellers. The novels are all available to purchase in e-book, paperback and audiobook formats on the Amazon store (the audiobook version of High Force will be released in early 2017). Holy Island is also available in German translation.

Louise was born in Northumberland, England. She studied undergraduate and postgraduate Law at King’s College, University of London and studied abroad in Paris and Florence. She spent much of her working life in London, where she was a regulatory lawyer for a number of years until taking the decision to change career and pursue her dream to write.

Now, she writes full time and lives with her husband and son in Bath. She enjoys reading all manner of books, travelling and spending time with family and friends.


My thoughts:

Cragside is the latest installment in the DCI Ryan series by LJ Ross, and to be honest, these books improve with every new book! LJ Ross is one of the authors whose books I eagerly await, and will ALWAYS buy because I am never let down. And its safe to say Cragside is another winner!

Still reeling from the investigation into The Hacker, when we meet Ryan in Cragside, he and Anna are holed up on a country estate as it was the easiest option until they can find somewhere to live. They are attending a staff party with a murder mystery themed evening in the main house, and that’s where events start to take on a life of their own.

During the course of the evening, and elderly staff member is found dead. What looks like, for all intents and purposes, a tragic accident is quickly upgraded when Ryan and his team begin to investigate a little deeper into the man’s life. When another body is found, things escalate quickly and it’s clear that there is something sinister happening at Cragside.

LJ Ross has a great writing style. In this one especially, there is a Golden Age crime feel to it. The murder mystery along with its setting make it seem almost Agatha Christie-esque in tone which makes it a very cosy read. Now in saying that, there is still an element of gore when discussing the murders, and the tension ramps up increasingly with every chapter.

What I love about these books is the characters. Yes, the plots are always excellent, and the intricacies of the mystery always bamboozle me, but the real heart of this series lies in the characters. I’m not one for fictional crushes, but to be honest, DCI Ryan sounds like he could be the poster boy for tortured heroes everywhere. There is something about how his character is built upon with each book that makes the reader feel more connected to him as the series progresses.

The camaraderie and banter between the investigation team is always so dynamic too. I especially love the relationships (and I am so NOT romantic at all!!!) between Ryan and Anna, and Frank and Denise. Considering all that they have been through recently (I’m not spoiling it by telling you, you’ll have to read the books to find out!) LJ Ross has captured their emotions so well. I’m not going to lie, there were a couple of occasions while reading that I may have had something in my eye… That is testament to the author’s ability to write characters so well though. To make the reader empathise/connect emotionally to characters is difficult, but LJ Ross does it with ease.

Cragside is a thrilling and engrossing read. Another stellar installment in the series. I flew through this one in less than 24 hours. I just couldn’t put it down. And my only complaint… that ending has me more than a little afraid for what’s coming in Dark Skies… but bring it on!!!

Highly, HIGHLY recommended!

Previous reviews for the DCI Ryan series:

Holy Island by LJ Ross

Sycamore Gap by LJ Ross

Heavenfield by LJ Ross

Angel (DCI Ryan 4) by LJ Ross

High Force (DCI Ryan 5) by L. J. Ross

7 thoughts on “Cragside: A DCI Ryan Mystery (The DCI Ryan Mysteries Book 6)

  1. I’m laughing about how we have both posted reviews at exactly the same time that both mention Agatha Christie and a tear in our eye!! How in tune are we??!! Such a great book isn’t it? Love your review xx

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.