~Blog Tour Review~ Don’t Tell A Soul by DK Hood

Hi guys,

Today I’m one of two stops kicking off the blog tour for Don’t Tell A Soul by DK Hood and I’ll be sharing my review with you all. First though, here’s the all-important bookish information 🙂

About the author:

D.K.Hood. 3

Born in London, D.K. traveled extensively before settling in sunny Australia. Her interest in the development of forensic science to solve crime goes back many years. She is an avid reader of crime, mystery and thrillers. Writing in this genre has been an exciting adventure for her but nothing could top the thrill of receiving a proposal for her first submission,  ‘Don’t Tell a Soul’ from commissioning editor Helen Jenner at Bookouture. D.K. looks forward to sharing her spine tingling stories with you.

 

Author Social Media Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dkhoodauthor/

Twitter: www.twitter.com/DKHood_Author

Website: www.dkhood.com

 

About the book:

Dont-Tell-A-Soul-Kindle.jpeg

The floor was stone cold on her bare skin. Her heart pounded in her chest. ‘Not a soul knows where I am,’ she thought as she took in the darkness around her. And then she heard his footsteps…

When a body is found stuffed into a barrel at a garbage dump, covered in long red cuts, Detective Jenna Alton and her new deputy, David Kane, rush to the scene.

Nothing ever happens in the small American town of Black Rock Falls, so Jenna believes the victim must be one of two recent missing persons, and she fears for the life of the other.

Both were strangers to the town, but there’s nothing else to link them. Jenna knows someone must have seen something, but no one’s talking; how well does she really know the people around her?

Then a disturbing clue makes Jenna suspect a connection with other disappearances in the town’s history. Just when she begins asking the right questions, she realises she’s being followed. Is she next on the killer’s list?

In a race against time, Jenna and David must unlock the dark secret at the heart of the town, before it’s too late… 

A completely addictive detective thriller that will have you guessing right to the end. Perfect for readers of Robert Dugoni, Karin Slaughter and Rachel Abbott.

Buy links:

UK http://amzn.to/2wESpf4
US http://amzn.to/2vgQtva

 

My thoughts:

I love a good serial killer thriller, especially ones based in the USA, so it was an easy yes to taking part in the blog tour for Don’t Tell A Soul by DK Hood. It sounded like something right up my street and I was not disappointed!

When a body is discovered in a barrel at a waste disposal site in Black Rock Falls, it’s up to Detective Jenna Alton and her new Deputy, David Kane to find out who it is and what happened. This is a small town, where nothing ever happens, but there are a couple of missing persons cases and Alton is afraid that the victim may be one of the missing so she begins an investigation that will threaten everyone’s safety around her.

Gah! I’m writing this review eager to tell you EVERYTHING about this book, but I can’t, because SPOILERS!!!!

So lets discuss characters instead for a bit. Jenna Alton is a strong female lead in this book, she takes no prisoners and takes s*** from NO-ONE! I loved her no-nonsense attitude and how she carries herself. Everyone has a past, and Jenna is no different but hers is one she has hidden away from the rest of the world. Enter Deputy David Kane….

Kane is such a great character. Full of machismo, but ultimately a very caring and honest man, he leaves the reader in no doubt that he is a very determined and interesting character. Alton and Kane meet in a great scenario (not going to say more!!!!) and their relationship starts off on an uneven keel for sure. As a pair, these two work so well together. They have each other’s backs, but are respectful of their differing methodologies and approaches to crimes/suspects. I really liked their inner monologues throughout the course of the book!

That plot though!!! It is detail-heavy, there are lots of extra stuff in there that creates the scenes and sets up the characters really well. So much so, that you will question everyone’s motives in the course of reading the book. I had inklings as to the whodunnit bits, but the author created such a wider picture that my theories were disproved more than once. I did get some bits right, but the ultimate reveal wasn’t what I was expecting. In a good way of course!

DK Hood, I need more Kane and Alton in my life, ASAP please 🙂 I am a huge fan of these two, and thanks to the author’s skill at not disclosing every minute detail, I am hankering for the next book and for answers!!!! Read it, and you’ll want to know what I want to know!

Don’t Tell A Soul is an absorbing, clever and dark book. Delving into small-town America and creating a sinister snapshot of life in a sleepy Montana town, it is compulsive and moreish. You need to keep reading, gleaning more information, putting it together in your head. And then the author will add in a tiny detail to make you go OMG! How did I miss that?!

Bravo, Ms. Hood. Bring on book 2.

Highly recommended!

 

Follow the blog tour:

Don't Tell a Soul - Blog Tour.jpeg

 

5 thoughts on “~Blog Tour Review~ Don’t Tell A Soul by DK Hood

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s