Blog Blitz ~ The Girl in the Storm by Ceri Lowe Ellen’s Review

Hi guys,

Today is Ellen’s stop on the blog blitz for The Girl in the Storm by Ceri Lowe and I’ll be sharing her review with you all!

About the author:

CLP.jpg

When Ceri isn’t writing, she’s a self-employed project management consultant specialising in financial services. She lives with her partner in Bristol, England and has various obsessions including all things Spanish, travelling and, of course, writing.

Social Media Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/cerialowe/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/cerilowepetrask

Website: http://www.cerialowe.com/

About the book:

The-Girl-in-the-Storm-Kindle.jpg

A gripping and heart-pounding story filled with mystery, suspense and danger, about one girl who braves her life to discover the truth. Fans of Bella Forrest, Divergent and The Hunger Games will be enthralled by this explosive and addictive dystopian novel.

The silhouettes of the watchers stood stark against the glinting metal fence. No one could get in. And no one could get out.

As the storms rage around her, 15-year-old Alice Davenport is trained by the rulers of the new world, Paradigm Industries, to reach the highest levels of command. Life within the Community is supposed to be perfect, with the Barricades keeping the population safe from the toxic wasteland and savage people outside.

Rebellious Alice has never felt easy with Paradigm Industries’ plans for the future. Determined to investigate their secrets, she makes a shocking discovery: disturbing experiments on how to create life itself are taking place in underground laboratories, establishing a new order for society that will impact generations to come…

The First Generation Scouts will rule.

The Second Gen will obey.

And the Lab Made will serve.

Knowing she can’t live in this brutal regime, Alice has nowhere to turn. Until she encounters a boy from beyond the Barricades, who seems to have the answers for a better life. If what he says about the outside world is true, Alice realises it’s up to her to take on the power of Paradigm Industries alone…

In her journey to find freedom, Alice’s courage will be tested to the limit, but she’ll stop at nothing to do what’s right.

 Click HERE to get your copy!

Ellen’s Review:

Having loved the first in The Paradigm Trilogy (The Rising Storm) by Ceri A Lowe, I was delighted to be asked to read and review The Girl in the Storm. It was fantastic to catch up with Alice and Carter and see where they were at in their separate voyages of discovery! Carter has been cast outside the safety of the Community and is at the mercy of whatever exists in the Deadlands. From strange creatures to delicious fruit and the mysterious Others, there is much to occupy him and force him to reconsider what his life has really been like up until this point. Alice is also having her eyes opened to strange truths back in the past and the origins of the Community which she helped to create. It appears that she isn’t being told the full story behind what Dr Barnes is actually up to in the labs beneath the surface and when she discovers what is happening her life may be in danger. She comes to the realisation that the Community is dividing people not uniting them.

As I have mentioned before, Dystopian/YA is one of my favourite genres and certain parts of The Girl in The Storm reminded me of The Chrysalids by John Wyndham. The Industry is intent on creating new life and if that creation is not perfect it is cast out into the Deadlands like a piece of rubbish. Carter discovers this when he is taken to a village in the Deadlands and is disgusted by the behaviour of those he once respected.

Alice and Carter are both fantastic characters and I’ve enjoyed the process of getting to know them; imagine what they could achieve if they were in the same timeline….

A fantastic addition to the trilogy and I can’t wait for book three!

Previous reviews:

The Rising Storm by Ceri A. Lowe Ellen’s Review

Check out the blitz:

The Girl in the Storm - Blog Blitz.jpg

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s