Blog Tour ~ The Proposal by S. E. Lynes Ellen’s Review

Hey guys,

Today Ellen is taking part in the blog tour for The Proposal by S. E. Lynes and I’ll be sharing her review with you all a little further down!

About the author:

S E Lynes Author Photo.png

After graduating from Leeds University, S E Lynes lived in London before moving to Aberdeen to be with her husband. In Aberdeen, she worked as a producer at BBC Radio Scotland before moving with her husband and two young children to Rome. There, she began to write while her children attended nursery. After the birth of her third child and upon her return to the UK, she gained an MA in Creative Writing from Kingston University. She now combines writing with lecturing at Richmond Adult Community College and bringing up her three children. She lives in Teddington. 
 

About the book:

The-Proposal-Kindle.jpeg

The first thing you should know, dear reader, is that I am dead…

Teacher Pippa wants a second chance. Recently divorced and unhappy at work, she uproots her life and moves to the countryside, determined to make a fresh start. But Pippa soon realises: your troubles are never far behind.

When Pippa meets blue-eyed Ryan Marks, he is funny and charming. He is haunted by his past – but insists he is a changed man. 

He might just be the answer to all of her problems. And Pippa can tell the truth from lies. She’d know if she were in danger. Wouldn’t she?

From Amazon chart bestseller S.E. Lynes, The Proposal is a page-turning and utterly gripping thriller about the lengths we will go to for someone we love. Perfect for fans of Gone GirlThe Woman in the Window and The Wife Between Us.

The Proposal by S. E. Lynes

Ellen’s Review:

I have been  a huge fan of SE Lynes since her debut Valentina and have been eagerly awaiting the next release – as always I wasn’t disappointed! The Proposal is the perfect example of a psychological thriller, all the ingredients are there to create an explosive read and one that left me feeling like I needed a hot shower.

The main character of Pippa is someone who I loved to hate; Self-centred, selfish and pretty moral free. Her behaviour got serious eye rolls from me throughout the whole of the book. She is a teacher who has published one novel and has serious writer’s block over her second. An ex con (Ryan) turns up on her doorstep selling household wares so what’s the sensible thing to do? Well, if you’re Pippa (already half sozzled) you invite him in and after feeding, watering and clothing him end up with an agreement (the proposal) to use the details of his criminal past and weave them into your new novel. No strings attached. Yeah, how did you envisage that would ever end well Pippa!? She is so desperate for success she is seemingly oblivious to the chaos that follows her around, divorced from her husband, picks up then drops her best friend as and when and now indebted to a potentially deadly individual.

The Proposal is told in various ways; Pippa in the future looking back on these events via journal entries, blog posts from her author page extolling about her perfect life as a best-selling author at Cairns Farm with the inimitable housekeeper Mrs Danvers and voice recordings from Ryan detailing his spiralling obsession with Pippa. This book is a serious lesson in not trusting everything/everyone at face value. I am loathe to spoil this book for future readers but just be prepared and DON’T miss the editor’s note at the end.

If you’re looking for a novel packed full of suspense, shocks and a sting in the tail then The Proposal is the one for you. Five stars for this outstanding read!!

Check out the tour:

The Proposal - Blog tour.jpg

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.