Blog Tour: The Lies We Hide by S. E. Lynes Ellen’s Review

Hey everyone,

Today, Ellen is taking part in the blog tour for The Lies We Hide by S. E. Lynes and I’ll be sharing her review with you all!

About the author:

Amazon best selling author of ‘intelligent and haunting’ psychological thrillers VALENTINA, MOTHER, THE PACT, THE PROPOSAL and THE WOMEN. 

S E Lynes is a writer, tutor and mentor. Formerly a BBC producer, she has lived in France, Spain, Scotland, Italy, and now lives in Greater London with her husband, three kids and her dog, Lola. 

Her critically acclaimed debut, VALENTINA, was published by Blackbird Digital Books in July 2016. Her second novel, MOTHER was published by Bookouture in 2017, followed in 2018 by THE PACT and THE PROPOSAL. In August 2018, VALENTINA was published in a new edition by Bookouture and THE WOMEN was released in 2019. Her new novel, the dark and gripping family drama, THE LIES WE HIDE, is published Dec 4th 2019.

Susie Lynes has also published two children’s books in Italy: Il Leopardo Lampo and La Coccodrilla Ingamba, both available at Amazon.it

Find her on:
Facebook S E Lynes Author
Twitter @SELynesAuthor

About the book:

The truth can set you free, or make you a prisoner…

Thirty years ago, Nicola Watson lived with her parents and older brother in a respectable suburb. At ten years old, she didn’t yet understand why her stomach tightened when she heard her father’s heavy tread as he returned home late at night, or why it made her brother Graham’s stammer get worse, or why one night her mother Carol woke them both, wide-eyed and whispering, and took them out of their home and into the unknown.

Now a successful lawyer in the city, with a life poles apart from her dark beginnings, Nicola has returned home for her mother’s funeral. But as she stands in her mother’s house, remembering the woman who sacrificed everything for her children, Nicola has to confront the guilt that she feels for leaving her family behind. And the belief that she played a part in the events that led to her brother going to prison for murder.

All Carol wanted was to protect her children, but escaping her husband was only the beginning of the story. And when Nicola learns the truth of what her mother did, it will change everything she thought she knew about herself and her family.

A gripping, emotional story of family secrets, and the strength of a mother’s love in the darkest times. The next powerful read for fans of The Silent Wife, Kerry Lonsdale and Emily Bleeker.

The Lies We Hide by S. E. Lynes

Ellen’s Review:

I have previously said that a new SE Lynes book was a major event in the Devonport household; would the same be true for The Lies We Hide which is a departure from the author’s usual genre? Heck yes of course it was!! This may not be a psychological thriller but it contains the heart and soul of Lynes’ beautiful writing which shines through regardless of the genre. Essence de Lynes if you will, it permeates every page!

Nicola Watson has returned home for her mother’s funeral. But as she returns to her mother’s house and remembers the woman who sacrificed everything for her children, Nicola has to confront the guilt that she feels for leaving her family behind. And the belief that she played a part in the events that led to her brother going to prison for murder.

As a child she was oblivious to why her mother Carol woke them in the middle of the night and the reasons behind them fleeing. All Carol wanted was to protect her children, but escaping her husband was only the beginning of the story. And when Nicola learns the truth of what her mother did, it will change everything she thought she knew about herself and her family.

The Lies We Hide is a family drama/saga; I was gripped from the beginning and desperate to find out all the truths that were hidden. This is a very emotional read and highlights the impact domestic abuse has on the whole family (and beyond) and the lengths people will go to to ensure the safety of their children.

One of the standout characters for me was Richard, the clergyman that Graham (Nicola’s brother) speaks to during his time in prison. I loved the face that their chats helped both of them overcome their personal issues with the past. I’d happily read a novel just about Richard!

In summary, while The Lies We Hide is not a thriller as such it contains plenty of shocks and twists. I urge you not to dismiss this just because it’s a shift of genre for the author, embrace the change!

Five stars from me!

Check out the blog tour:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.