Bitter Falls (Stillhouse Lake 4) by Rachel Caine

Hi all,

In doing out this review, I realised I had never actually reviewed the first three books in this series properly on here. But hey, I read the fourth book, so you know I enjoyed them or I wouldn’t have continued on. To be honest, this is one of only a handful of book series that I try and keep up with.

About the author:

Rachel Caine

Rachel Caine is the author of more than fifty novels, including the international bestseller Stillhouse Lake thriller series, the Morganville Vampires series, the Great Library series, and Weather Warden series.


About the book:

She’s investigating a cold case no one else could—by going places no else would dare.

In spite of a harrowing past still haunting her, Gwen Proctor is trying to move forward. Until a new assignment gives her purpose: the cold-case disappearance of a young man in Tennessee. Three years missing, no clues. Just Ruth Landry, a tortured mother in limbo. Gwen understands what it’s like to worry about your children.

Gwen’s investigation unearths new suspects…and victims. As she follows each sinister lead, the implications of the mystery grow more disturbing. Because the closer Gwen gets, the closer she is to a threat that looms back home.

In a town that’s closed its ranks against Gwen; her partner, Sam; and her kids, there’s no bolder enemy than the Belldene family—paramilitary, criminal, powerful, and vengeful. As personal vendettas collide with Gwen’s investigation, she’s prepared to fight both battles. But is she prepared for the toll it could take on everyone she loves?

Bitter Falls (Stillhouse Lake 4) by Rachel Caine

My review:

As I mentioned, I’ve read and enjoyed the previous three books in this series, so I was delighted to see that Bitter Falls was coming out.

In Bitter Falls, we’re back with Gwen Proctor and her family as they are trying to navigate their lives after the events of Wolfhunter River. When Gwen gets asked to investigate a cold case involving the disappearance of a young man, what should have been simple turns into something much larger and more dangerous than she could have imagined.

Something about this series of books makes it difficult for me to put them down once I start. Rachel Caine has a knack for writing characters and scenarios where you have no choice but to just keep reading. Bitter Falls, while not my favourite of the series (that’s definitely Stillhouse Lake because it sets up everything!), I still found that myself saying “just one more chapter and then I’ll stop for a while”. It didn’t happen, I had to keep reading!

Bitter Falls has a few different strands running through it, and these strands get woven together in a dangerous way for Gwen and her family. The Belldene family being the common denominator. Essentially, they’re billed as the hillbilly mafia and you can totally see why as you get further into the story. The Clampett’s they are NOT, that’s for sure.

Bitter Falls in another great installment for the Stillhouse Lake series. For me, it kept me engaged and turning those pages until the bitter (I know!) end. And as per usual, I’m left waiting for the next (final!!!) book, which won’t be out for a whole YEAR!.

If you enjoy thrillers, and you haven’t read this series yet, I would wholeheartedly recommend it. But make sure you start with Stillhouse Lake first!

Buy the first three books:

Stillhouse Lake

Killman Creek

Wolfhunter River

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.