Blog Tour: Can You See Her? b y S. E. Lynes

Hi all,

Today, Ellen is raking part in the blog tour for Can You See Her? by S. E. Lynes, and I’ll be sharing her review with you all a little further down.

About the author:

After graduating from Leeds University, S E Lynes lived in London before moving to Aberdeen where she worked as a BBC Producer. In 2002, she moved to Rome with her husband and two young children. In 2007, after the birth of her third child, she returned to the UK and gained an MA in Creative Writing from Kingston University. Currently, she writes novels and teaches Creative Writing at Richmond Adult Community College.

@SELynesAuthor  

About the book:

Rachel Ryder doesn’t understand how her life has changed so completely. When she was younger, heads would turn when she walked into a room. Her children needed her; her husband adored her.

But somehow the years wore that all away. She was so busy raising her children, looking after her parents… She can barely remember the woman she used to be, the one whose husband told her she was out of his league. The woman she is now just does the laundry and makes the dinner, and can walk into a room without anyone knowing she’s there.

She knows that she hated feeling invisible. She knows that she thought: what would it take for you to see me again?

And now she’s worried that she did something terrible. Because she’s sitting in a room, being asked whether she killed someone.

When no-one is watching, you can get away with anything…

Can You See Her? is an utterly compelling and unputdownable psychological thriller, about how far you can push a woman before she will break. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, A.J. Finn and The Silent Patient.

Click the link below to order your copy:

Can You See Her? by S. E. Lynes

Ellen’s Review:

After the strangeness of the last few weeks I was certainly ready for my SE Lynes major event fix! I had been really struggling with my reading mojo but Can You see Her resurrected it.

I think a lot of us could emphasise with Rachel, the lead character. From feeling like the centre of her family’s world she has slowly faded into the background as her children have grown older and her husband pays her no attention. She drifts through her daily routine, a shadow of her former self…in fact she may as well be invisible…and what could she do if no one could actually see her?

It’s obvious that Rachel is suffering with her mental health and that it’s more than just a “funny do”. The story is told through a series of interviews between Rachel, her husband, best friend and others. It is clear that murders have been committed but could Rachel really have been driven to kill??

Once more the author has written a book that spoke to me on many levels; my eldest teenager now has the nickname of “pig in knickers” after a certain part of the book and these family interactions are so relatable and humorous! While there is pain, darkness and sorrow in the pages there’s also always a little bit of sunshine to make you smile.

 I’m pretty sure I say this every time but this definitely is my favourite SE Lynes book…until the next one!

Check out the tour:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.