Books-On-Tour: No Escape by Casey Kelleher

Hi all,

Today, Ellen is taking part in the blog tour for No Escape by Casey Kelleher and I’ll be sharing her review with you all just a little further down.

Author Bio:

Born in Cuckfield, West Sussex, Casey Kelleher grew up as an avid reader and a huge fan of author Martina Cole. 

Whilst working as a beauty therapist and bringing up her three children together with her husband, Casey penned her debut novel Rotten to the Core. Its success meant that she could give up her day job and concentrate on writing full time. 


For all news and updates:

www.caseykelleher.co.uk

www.facebook.com/officialcaseykelleher

http://caseykelleher.wordpress.com

Twitter: @caseykelleher

The one place she never wanted to go back to. The one place she can’t escape.

When she was just five years old, Lucy Murphy witnessed her mother’s brutal murder in their home on London’s notorious Griffin Estate. The case was never solved. Now a newly qualified police officer, Lucy has been given her first job: she’s going back to the Griffin Estate.

She is there to protect the estate’s vulnerable residents, including Shannon and Kian Winters, two kids struggling to deal with their alcoholic mother. Fifteen-year-old Shannon is working every spare hour to keep a roof over their heads, but thirteen-year-old Kian has fallen under the sway of gang leader Jax Priestly. And now Jax has plans for Shannon too…

As Lucy gets to know Kian and Shannon she becomes determined not to let the two teenagers become Jax’s victims. But time is running out. Jax is out of control, and the gang’s violent reprisals are escalating. Can Lucy face down her own demons in time to prevent a tragedy? As a child, she already witnessed the murder of one innocent person. It will take all her courage and training to stop another.

A shocking, fast-paced read that will keep you gripped from beginning to end. Fans of Kimberley Chambers and Martina Cole won’t be able to put this down.

No Escape by Casey Kelleher

Ellen’s Review:

Before reading Casey Kelleher books I was never a fan of gritty crime/gangland books BUT now I am totally turned around and LOVE them!! I was so excited to read No Escape after previously enjoying The Byrne Trilogy and I hope that this is the start of a new series for me to obsess over.

When Lucy Murphy was a child she witnessed the brutal murder of her mother in their home on London’s notorious Griffin Estate and the killer was never found. She is now a newly qualified police officer and her first job is back on home turf. It is obvious that Lucy struggles with the memories from her childhood and is nervous about going back. I really felt for her, not only is she in turmoil over her past and handling a sensitive case she is also caring for her grandmother who is suffering with dementia. These parts of the story were so heart breaking/warming: Lucy is never sure what she is going to find when she gets in from work and her grandmother often needs reminding that her daughter was murdered. These insights into Lucy’s personal life give you an understanding of her character and determination.

Lucy’s job now is to protect the estate’s vulnerable residents, including Shannon and Kian Winters; two kids struggling to deal with their alcoholic mother. Fifteen-year-old Shannon is working every spare hour in the local chippy to keep a roof over their heads. Unfortunately thirteen-year-old Kian has got caught up with gang leader Jax Priestly and is heading towards trouble. Lucy gets to know the siblings and is determined not to let the two teenagers become Jax’s victims. Jax has form with picking on vulnerable people including taking advantage of a young mentally impaired man called Philip (and his cat). I absolutely despised Jax and felt like throttling him!!

I was gripped from page one and sped through the pages, I can’t wait to see what’s next for this new cast of characters.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.