Bookouture Books On Tour Review by Ellen: Ten Days by Mel Sherratt

Hi everyone,

Today, Ellen is taking part in the blog tour for Ten Days by Mel Sherratt, and I’ll be sharing her review with you all just a little further down.

My novels take you to the heart of the crime. I write police procedurals, psychological suspense and crime dramas – fiction with a punch. Shortlisted for the prestigious CWA (Crime Writer’s Association) Dagger in Library Award, my inspiration comes from authors such as Martina Cole, Lisa Jewell, Mandasue Heller and Clare Mackintosh.

To date, I’ve sold 1.7 million books. All sixteen of my crime novels have been bestsellers, each one climbing into the Kindle UK top 10 and I’ve had several number ones. I’ve also had numerous Kindle All-star awards, for best read author and best titles.

I live in Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, with my husband and terrier, Dexter (named after the TV serial killer) and make liberal use of my hometown as a backdrop for some of my books. You can find out more at my website www.melsherratt.co.uk 

Author Social Media Links:

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/mel_sherratt/

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/MelSherrattauthor

Twitter:     https://twitter.com/writermels

Can her own dark secret set her free?

Day one. As my eyes adjust to the darkness, I slowly start to recognise my surroundings: the small hole in the door and a narrow window allowing only a small chink of light. The jewellery given to me by my loving husband is gone and I am wearing someone else’s clothes. The room is exactly as the first woman described. And the second. And the third… It’s then I know, I am the fifth woman to be taken.

Just days before, I had interviewed the third victim for the local paper. Her story was the same as those before her: an ordinary woman, locked away for ten days then released with no explanation, and nothing – nothing she could think of – to link her to the others. Throughout the ordeal, her abductor stayed eerily silent.

I tell myself I’ll be safe; that I can brave the loneliness and survive just like the others. But as the days pass, I can’t help thinking of the fourth victim who is still missing.

And then I hear the voice coming through the door. ‘You said everything would be fine. But it wasn’t was it?’ It is then that I realise. If I am to make it out alive, I need to revisit a dark secret of my own that I have spent a lifetime trying to forget.

An absolutely unputdownable psychological thriller with a truly brilliant twist, perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, T.M. Logan and C.L. Taylor.

This book was previously titled Invisible Victim.

Click the link below to order your copy:

Ten Days by Mel Sherratt

Ellen’s Review:

I’ve been a fan of Mel Sherratt’s police procedural novels for some years so was intrigued by the premise of this standalone psychological thriller.


Eva is a reporter in Stoke on Trent who has been covering an unusual spate of abductions. The victims are locked away for ten days, sometimes beaten, given the absolute minimum of nourishment then released without explanation. Their captor remains silent through the ordeal.

Eva becomes the fifth woman to be abducted and thanks to her interviews realises immediately what has happened and what is in store for her. Her only comfort is knowing she will be released once the ten days are up but things take a turn when the kidnapper (Alex) speaks to Eva something that they have never done before.

There is obviously a link between the abducted women but this hasn’t yet been discovered by those covering the case. In revealing themself it becomes apparent they all have a history with the abductor putting Eva’s thoughts of her release in limbo…


The story is told from the perspective of Eva and Alex. It was interesting to see that Alex’s version of events don’t quite match what actually happened but any doubt expressed could lead to erratic behaviour and violence.
Invisible Victim is a dark and chilling tale.

Another fantastic book from this author! 

Check out the tour:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.