Bookouture Books On Tour: The Witness by John Ryder Ellen’s Review

Hi everyone,

Today, Ellen is taking part in the tour for The Witness by John Ryder and I’ll be sharing her review with you all just a little further down.

John Ryder is a former farmworker and joiner. He’s turned his hand to many skills to put food on the table and clothes on his back. A life-long bibliophile, he eventually summoned the courage to try writing himself, and his Grant Fletcher novels have drawn inspiration from authors such as Lee Child, Tom Cain, Zoe Sharp and Matt Hilton. When it comes to future novels, he says he has more ideas than time to write them.
When not writing, John enjoys spending time with his son, reading and socialising with friends. A fanatic supporter of his local football team, he can often be found shouting encouragement to men much younger and fitter than he is.
Social Media:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JohnRyderAuthor 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JohnRyder101

Website: https://johnryderauthor.com/

“Find my daughter in twenty-four hours. Or she’s dead.”

Kyle Roche is a man whose job it is to stay invisible. Dark, mysterious, and only sometimes on the right side of the law, only a lucky few know how to reach him: Kyle can fix their problems, however dangerous.

Now he’s been hired to save a woman in Witness Protection, one who doesn’t officially exist anymore. But before he can keep her safe, he has to find her. And he has less than twenty-four hours to do it…

Savannah Nicholls is in hiding because of a tragic mistake. Her mother insists her daughter is just a nice girl, from a good family, that she’s never gotten in trouble in her life. But she also says someone knows where her daughter is. And they want to kill her.

If he’s going to keep Savannah safe, Roche needs to know who is after her, as well as what she witnessed, who her enemies are, and if they have really been able to find her. But how can he protect a woman who is as invisible as he is?

Because the clock is ticking…

This totally gripping, pulse-pounding thriller is perfect for fans of David Baldacci, JB Turner and Mark Dawson.

Click the link below to order your copy now:

The Witness by John Ryder

Ellen’s Review:

The Witness is a standalone action thriller from John Ryder, I have enjoyed the author’s previous books so knew I was in for a treat.


Kyle Roche is a private investigator/fixer who operates in the no man’s land between the cops and the criminals. In this book he is tasked with locating Savannah Nicoll who is in The United States Federal Witness programme after testifying against her boyfriend.

The whole point of going into witness protection is to disappear but a leak has revealed her location…

Ignacio Perez blames Savannah for leading his son on and had openly made threats before the trial, he then approaches Savannah’s mother Ursula at a private function and informs her that her daughter will be dead within thirty nine hours. Ursula is given Kyle’s name and told if anyone can help it’s him.

Kyle is a man with a particular set of skills but this case is going to be tricky – how can he protect someone when he isn’t allowed to know anything about her or who her enemies are?


The action and intrigue starts from page one and ramps up with every chapter! I enjoyed getting to know Kyle Roche and even though this is billed as a standalone I can imagine plenty more scenarios for this new action hero.

Check out the tour:

2 thoughts on “Bookouture Books On Tour: The Witness by John Ryder Ellen’s Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.