*Rachel Abbott Kill Me Again Blog Tour*

img_0571

 

Hey everyone!

Today is my stop on the Kill Me Again blog tour! For any of you who don’t know, Rachel Abbott is the UK’s most successful self-published authors and Kill Me Again was released on the 17th of February.

 

img_0582

 

 

 

I’m delighted to be able to share with you Rachel’s Top Five Thrilling Reads, so without further ado, have a read! 😉


TOP FIVE THRILLERS

 

I have loved thrillers for as long as I can remember, and I’ve read so many brilliant ones it’s really hard to remember them all. I’ve chosen a few here, but I could have come up with a much longer list.

 

My favourite types of thrillers are those in which the investigation team are on the periphery. They may well have strong personalities of their own and play a vital role in the story, but essentially the story is about the victims and the perpetrators, so we see majority of the action from their perspective. There are a couple of exceptions in this list below, but they are all good reads – so much so that most have been made into films.

 

 

Misery – Stephen King – 

Every writer’s nightmare in the terrifying flesh, being kidnapped by a super fan who has mental health issues and a burning desire to keep you in one place by any means necessary. I have fresh respect for the plight of Paul Sheldon being forced to write a book to please the unhinged, violent Annie Wilkes every time I walk past a sledgehammer. This is a true thriller.

 

Silence of the Lambs – Thomas Harris – 

High-functioning psychopath and incarcerated cannibalistic serial killer Hannibal Lecter is approached by his darling Clarice Starling for help with another serial killer. Buffalo Bill skins his female victim’s corpses. There are a hundred reasons to love this book but I’m afraid I love it most for a gruesome one-liner involving a vest!

 

Before I go to Sleep – SJ Watson – 

The idea behind this book is brilliant. It’s the kind of idea that I’m sure most writers wish they had thought of first. The main character, Christine Lucas, has lost her life because she has lost her memory. Every night when she goes to sleep, her memory is wiped and so she records her daily existence to figure out who she really is. Gradually she discovers, through reading the diaries, that something isn’t quite right. But who should she trust?

 

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo – Stieg Larsson – 

I confess that it took me a while to get into this book. The early part of the story didn’t grab me, but I am so glad that I persevered. The story has so many twists and turns and sub-plots that it is quite a mental work out. Larsson has several strands all leading to a story of rape, sexual assault and murder, and I loved the way the tiniest nuggets of information became so hugely important. And I don’t think I guessed who the killer was until the very end – always the sign of a good book.

 

The Body Farm – Patricia Cornwell – 

Any book that involves the death of children recalls Brady and Hindley for me, especially as I used to live in Saddleworth – the area in which this couple buried some of the bodies of their victims. In The Body Farm, Kay Scarpetta investigates the brutal murder of an 11-year-old girl and it looks like the handiwork of a serial killer who has dodged the FBI for years. Unlike the others, this is more focused on the investigation – but as with most books by this author, that doesn’t mean that the main characters are safe from harm. Far from it. I particularl love the fact that an actual research facility for the study of human decomposition was the inspiration for the title and the plot.


*************


Ive read three out of the five books listed, and have the other two on my TBR so I must root them out and read them! 😉

 

***There’s also a giveaway running here and on Twitter for a paperback book and T-shirt saying ‘careful, or you’ll end up in my next novel’! All you have to do, is comment below or on Twitter with your favourite crime book OF ALL TIME. It’s that simple! A winner will be chosen at random, and their prize sent out!***

(UK & IRE ONLY)


Here’s some links if you want to keep up with Rachel Abbott:

Twitter: @RachelAbbott

Facebook: Rachel Abbott1Writer

Website: www.rachel-abbott.com

30 Day Challenge- Day 25

Most surprising plot twist or ending… 

I have read a couple of contenders lately that I could name here, but one of the more prominent books in my mind with a surprising plot twist is

The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson

 

I read Peter’s first book, The Girl With A Clock For A Heart,which was good, so when I saw he had released another I figured I’d give it a go.

I am so glad I did because The Kind Worth Killing is all kinds of FRICKIN AWESOME!!!

As a book, it’s a superbly stylish thriller. Well written, suspenseful and it just draws you right in!

The plot twist was mahoosive!!! I mean, I just didn’t see it coming. I had to re-read the pages a couple of times before I picked my jaw up off the floor!!! I will not say any more about the plot as its too great a story for me to describe it. YOU NEED TO READ THIS BOOK!!!

It will most definitely be in my Top Ten books this year! I described it on Twitter this week something like this; an assassin of a book that just kills off all the competition! 😂

For Reasons Unknown by Michael Wood 

I’ve had this book on my kindle for a few weeks, and I kept trying to get to it to no avail. Until this week. I had pretty much caught up on all my “read to review” books and I had been promising Michael over on Twitter that I would read and review For Reasons Unknown for ages so I started it Friday night!

About the book:

Two murders. Twenty years. Now the killer is back for more…

A darkly compelling debut crime novel. The start of a brilliant series, perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Val McDermid, and James Oswald.
DCI Matilda Darke has returned to work after a nine month absence. A shadow of her former self, she is tasked with re-opening a cold case: the terrifyingly brutal murders of Miranda and Stefan Harkness. The only witness was their eleven-year-old son, Jonathan, who was too deeply traumatized to speak a word.
Then a dead body is discovered, and the investigation leads back to Matilda’s case. Suddenly the past and present converge, and it seems a killer may have come back for more…

My thoughts:

Where to start?! First off, I loved this book. I read so many crime books that at times they all run into each other but every so often a book comes along with a story that stands out. For Reasons Unknown did just that.

DCI Darke (what a name by the way!) is back to work after some traumatic events in both her personal and professional life. Clearly not 100%, she is tasked with solving a cold case from twenty years ago. The double murder of Miranda and Stefan Harkness, whose murder was witnessed by their eleven year old son and in turn, rendered him mute.

Simultaneously, acting DCI Hales is investigating a murder in the city. Both past and present cases end up related so it becomes a race against time as it appears that the murderer may not be finished. While I saw this coming, I still enjoyed the way it was going.

I really enjoyed the pace of this story, and I found myself reading at every opportunity (including in the car even though it makes me sick!!! I had 6% left to read!! 😄) as I was enjoying it so much. Hence I had it finished fairly quickly!

As I was nearing the end, I think from about 70% on, my brain starting working everything out! Having said that, I think the author has created an intricate web in a larger story which really comes into its own in the last few chapters. That’s where things really get going, in my opinion.

Now that I’m finished, I feel like I have a book hangover. I don’t get that very often! 🙂

I have recommended this book to people already, and I will recommend it again as I genuinely loved it! Usually on Twitter, so I’m sorry Michael for all the @@@!! 🙂 (@Bibliophilebc if you fancy following)

I gave For Reasons Unknown 5 ⭐️ on Goodreads (a rarity but it does happen! 😉).

Happy reading! 😊📖